2018 Reading Resolutions | Top 5 Wednesday

Happy New Year everyone!

As part of my NY Resolutions for 2018, I’m going to try and blog more regularly. And by that I mean post at least once a week. Now I’m a deadline do-er kind of person and I also love lists. So what better way to keep myself blogging than joining T5W?

T5W

To start this new year, the first topic is 2018 Reading Resolutions”.  I have big plans for this year, and most of them include reading. Without further ado, here are my top 5 reading resolutions:

1. Read 70 books:

Over the past 3 years, I’ve participated in the Goodreads reading challenge. I think it’s kinda funny when you look at them that I’ve failed so horribly the first one but managed to go over my goal for the last ones.

It all started with 12 books in 2015 (I only got to 9), then in 2016 I read 54 out of my goal of 50. And last year, for my own shock as I had almost gave up by July, I managed not only to meet my goal of 60, but even to pass it to 63!

This year, I’ve set my reading challenge to 70 books, you can add me if you want to see if I manage my first resolution.

2. Lower my physical TBR to 50 books:

I was going to do a “cut in half my physical TBR pile”. And this resolution is pretty close to it, since I currently have 105 unread books sitting on my shelves.

Having a big TBR was one of my dreams a couple of years back, because so much to choose from, right? Now it’s gotten to the point where it feels more like a nightmare. So since I’ll be hopefully reading a ton this year, I will also restrict my book buying problems so that my TBR downsizes, instead of growing like crazy.

3. Do more critical reading:

I’m a big “5 star giver”: if I like a book, I’ll probably give it 5 stars even if I had issues with it. This bothers me a bit, since then books I kinda enjoyed share the same rating as some of my all time favourites.

I want to try to be more critical with the books I read, and acknowledge the issues and good points better. I’m going to try and write a review per week too, so then I will need to be able to say why I liked or not a book with more than a few words.

4. Read War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy:

I blame Broadway on this one. Over the past few months, I’ve listened to a lot of musical plays soundtracks. And in that process, I’ve become obsessed with the masterpiece that is Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812, which is an adaptation of War and Peace.

It’s based on Volume 2, Part 5 of the novel, and I decided that since I needed more, why not read the whole thing? I’m not going to lie, but this resolution makes me feel the most nervous out of these 5, since it’s not only a Russian classic but also massive.

5. Read the Shadowhunters Chronicles:

Once upon a time, 14-year-old me read the first two books of The Mortal Instruments. That same 14 year old, who absolutely adored them btw, then went on a reading slump that lasted almost 5 years thanks to high school.

I’ve been putting off reading the Shadowhunters Chronicles for several reasons: I don’t remember anything from the books except that at some point I started to get really annoyed by Clary, there’s way too many books out now, I’m past my urban fantasy phase… All of them excuses.

But this year this is happening, thanks to emmabooks, who is hosting a year long readalong for the Shadowhunters Chronicles. There’s a reading scheduling and liveshow for each book that’s out, as well as a Facebook group to chat about the books. Basically, all the right things to keep me motivated to push myself into reading them.

That’s it for my T5W resolutions! What are some of your reading resolutions for this year?

16 thoughts on “2018 Reading Resolutions | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. auroralibrialis 3 January, 2018 / 10:52 pm

    War and Peace is my favorite classic. It’s a beast, but it’s amazing. I hope you enjoy it! And good luck with all your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 4 January, 2018 / 1:20 pm

      I’m so scared by it, specially since I’ve never read longer classics 👀 thank you so much!

      Like

  2. thecatwithabook 4 January, 2018 / 1:16 pm

    The same thing happened to me that time I started reading TMI. 😣 School work ruined it! JK. But I am planning to get back to it soon. Good luck on your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 4 January, 2018 / 1:19 pm

      Thank you! I’m really excited for this reading year 🙂

      Like

  3. Chauncey Rogers 4 January, 2018 / 5:20 pm

    Ooof! War and Peace? That is a big book. I agree that that goal seems the most daunting. But, I’m sure you can do it! If I were trying to tackle that book, I think I’d need a blend of audiobook and either ebook or paperback–maybe the ebook so I wouldn’t get carpal tunnel. 😛
    Great goals, though! Looking forward to seeing how you do with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 4 January, 2018 / 6:45 pm

      I’m probably going to die cause I have a paperback that weights more than a kg… Your idea of the audiobook help is good though, I might try it out 😄 Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chauncey Rogers 4 January, 2018 / 7:07 pm

        Reminds me of when I was in junior high school. I started reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy, but I foolishly bought a single-volume edition. That thing was heavy. Made my wrists hurt something awful.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. HADEER 4 January, 2018 / 10:35 pm

    Oh my gosh, The Great Comet! I love meeting other people who are obsessed with it! Did you get to see it on stage? I went just a tad bit insane and saw it six times. And I also decided to read War and Peace because of it. Unfortunately, if you’re looking for more detail on the characters, you’re not really gonna get it. 😦

    I found myself really disappointed by War and Peace. It’s not a particularly difficult read, but a really boring one – Tolstoy spends much of the book discussing the war in excruciating detail. It’s almost as though what he really wanted to do was write a military history tome but at the last minute decided to insert some characters. The bit that Great Comet is based on happens so quickly in the book! The show actually gives us waaaaay more detail and depth to the characters, imo. I’m still glad I read it, though, it’s certainly an accomplishment! If you do get around to it let me know and I’ll tell you which translations I read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 5 January, 2018 / 10:02 am

      Sadly I haven’t seen it on stage 🙁 I’m interested in getting more of the Russia of those years because it sounds really interesting. Oh wow, a boring read in such a long book sounds horrible, now I’m scared to start it… I currently own the Vintage Classics edition, is the translation any good?

      Like

      • HADEER 8 January, 2018 / 9:21 pm

        I read the Briggs translation, which seems to be the one recommended for most lay readers. If I had to go back, though, I might read the Volkonsky translation because it has prettier language, which might make the thing more interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sara 8 January, 2018 / 9:28 pm

        Ahh yes this edition is Volkonsky’s translation I just checked (tbh I bought it bc it was pretty oops) 👀 I’ll post a review when I get to it

        Like

  5. Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd 9 January, 2018 / 5:30 pm

    Oh I love your resolutions and I can see some of my own on your list! I definitely want to be more critical when it comes to reading and reviewing! Like you, I’m not happy with the fact that my favourite books share the same rating with other books that I might have liked very much, but wouldn’t call a favourite!

    I also want to cut down my physical TBR! I was buying buying BUYING books this year and even though I read 100 books this year, I still have 90 unread books on my shelves! It’s such a struggle XD

    Good luck with your resolutions 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 13 January, 2018 / 5:13 pm

      Thank you ✨and good luck to you too! It’s going to be a hard year for us haha

      Liked by 1 person

  6. daniellepitter 13 January, 2018 / 3:43 am

    I’m (very tentatively) doing emmmabooks’ TMI readalong too yay!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sara 13 January, 2018 / 5:10 pm

      Omg we could do a buddy read experience haha

      Like

Leave a comment